Surgery in 4 days, new to board

iVillage Member
Surgery in 4 days, new to board
Thu, 01-01-2009 - 10:13pm

Hi. I'm new to the message board and I have a few concerns and would like some input from your experiences.

My surgery is on Jan 6th and I am feeling really nervous about it.

iVillage Member
Fri, 01-02-2009 - 11:23am
Hi!
It is only natural to be nervous. I thought about backing out also, but my friends and family kept reminding me how much I wanted this surgery. Once the day of surgery came, I was more excited to get it done, than nervous and all the nurses and techs were wonderful and really made me feel at ease.
I kept myself busy before with getting the house clean and having plenty of easy to make meals and snacks. Also make sure you have different size pillows around cause, if you are like me, I spent most of my time in a chair/recliner and the pillows were propped up all around to make it comfortable.
Make sure you have a stool softener, cause constipation after anesthesia is the worst; believe me!! I had non-stick gauze ready to put between my bra and incisions and that was very comfortable. Some ladies used Kotex pads, but I found them itchy, all in your preference. You will need something for a week or two, once the bandages are off. My bandages came off the second day, along with the drains coming out, and I was able to take a very careful shower. I think each PS is different though in when all that happens.
Once I was on the road to healing, I wore thin, men's cotton tank t-shirts under my bras and that was very comfortable! I even wore them later when I started back to exercising to absorb the sweat. Not so pretty, but they felt good!
I had my surgery in August of 07. I have since lost 27 pounds and my boobs have not really changed. My band size has a little bit, but not the cup; still a wonderful C cup, down from a DDD.