iVillage Member
Lots of Questions
Sat, 12-12-2009 - 10:26am

Hi:

This is my first time posting.

iVillage Member
Mon, 12-14-2009 - 2:58pm

Hi!!
Well welcome to the boards! So glad you found them. I know for me when I was starting my search like you, these boards were a God send!!!
Hopefully I can help you with some of your questions and others can also!
I'll just go right on down the list~
I started out as a 40DDD and am now a 38C. (and loving it!!)
My surgery took about 3 hours. I went in at 7:30am, came out at around 10:30 - 11am and was home by 1:30pm. I really wished I could have stayed overnight, but I had the surgery in a surgical center, not hospital. I was really groggy and a bit sick from the anesthesia, so it would have been nice to stay. But I was ok by the next day.
From the first consult I had with my PS to the okay by the insurance company, about 3-4 weeks. I was then able to schedule my surgery for a month and a half after that. I had my surgery August 7th, 2007.
Questions to ask... what size will I be able to go down to? Will I need lipo on the sides? What will I need to wear home and the first month after? How is the surgery done,(ask him to describe it in detail; I had no idea)Pain...meds after...work...lifting..driving - these are all things he should discuss with you, maybe not at first but before surgery.
I was out of work for a week and went back 1/2 days the next. It did take a toll on me, as I work in an office. But by the 3rd week I was good, just no pushing in heavy file drawers or lifting heavy boxes,etc. Driving did bother me the first couple weeks; really anything where you use your arms too much. That can cause swelling and other problems. Just have to make sure and listen to your body - it will tell you when it has had too much!