Newbie here - need a shoulder!

iVillage Member
Newbie here - need a shoulder!
Wed, 10-21-2009 - 4:31pm

I've been lurking around the past couple of days and have now realize that I can't take on this debt burden on my own.

iVillage Member
Wed, 10-21-2009 - 4:51pm

Welcome aboard...

I'm two weeks old to the board and it has been very helpful thus far...

Keep considering talking to your husband..he has a right and a need to know whats going on...

If you post ur numbers some of the folk on here are wizards with budgets...

Post often and slowly start setting some goals...

iVillage Member
Wed, 10-21-2009 - 6:33pm

Welcome to the board.

I strongly urge you to talk to your husband. Hiding debt is not going to help your situation. Yes it will be uncomfortable but it's important that you both be on the same page. If only one person in a marriage is trying to pay down debt, you are not going to get very far. With both of you working together you'll be able to pay this down in no time.

Remember that things like Braces can usually wait. You need to focus on paying down the debt you already have.

Post your bills and other budget numbers. Let us see if we can help you put together a budget that will help you pay down this debt.

stacy

iVillage Member
Thu, 10-22-2009 - 7:12am

Welcome to the boards ... you've come to the right place.

Kate

empty purse

iVillage Member
Thu, 10-22-2009 - 8:11am

Hi and welcome. I am very sorry you are going through this. I am about $15,000 in CC debt in total. It sucks but I am slowly chipping away.

I agree with the PPs. You need to tell DH. If he doesn't know, he can't help you and one person can't do this alone no matter how much you would like to.

I also encourage you to post your numbers here. A lot of us have done so at one point or another and its helped significantly to have fresh eyes take a look.

Good luck. Post often!

Bex -

"Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, today is a gift -thats why its called the present."