GF deli meat

Avatar for peanutgallery7
iVillage Member
Registered: 03-30-2003
GF deli meat
5
Tue, 04-27-2010 - 10:20pm

I am a little confused as to what I am looking for in deli meat. I keep kosher so many of the finding I get through Google are not appropriate for me. What are the ingredients that would be in a deli meat that make if not GF??

Thanks so much.

Andrea

iVillage Member
Registered: 03-19-2003
Wed, 04-28-2010 - 1:25am

Hi... if you are looking at meat loaves lots have meal in them often these are not gf/wf same with processed sausages.unless they state gf/wf then they too often have meal.and by that i mean bran.this helps to fill as well as keep them smelling sweet,


things like chicken loaf,or beef or pork loaves,and in some countries they call it polony or devon,or my butcher makes sausages that are just chicken or beef no other additives what so ever,they also use flour to make them thick and hold together better or a think called caking agent,it holds together..most of those round sausage types of loaves are the same not gf/wf...even right down to the processed hams etc...


they also add presevitives that are not gf/wf as well


preservative numbers you can have are as follows..200,201,202/3,210,/11/12./13.16/18/220//21/22//23/24/25/28/234/35/242,/249/250/51/52/280/281/82/83/85/285/and1105.


thicheners to avoid,are 1400.1401.1402./03/04/051410/1412/1413/14/1420/21/22/1440/1442/1450..


these all contain wheat or bproduct of wheat/gluten..


flour treatment agents to avoid are 1100..same with emzymes..1100.


if you check labels if possible for these plus my rule of thumbs is i never buy unless it states gluten free totally..ask deli are these gluten and wheat free as well..plus lots vare processed on same equiptment which alllows for contamination


hope this has helped you in some way..cheers Lynne





Avatar for peanutgallery7
iVillage Member
Registered: 03-30-2003
Wed, 04-28-2010 - 8:01am
Are you in America? Those numbers sound foreign to me.....
I don't see any numbers...

iVillage Member
Registered: 03-24-2004
Thu, 04-29-2010 - 8:10am

All of Boars Head luncheon meats and cheeses are gluten free. I am not sure if they are kosher or not.

iVillage Member
Registered: 03-27-2003
Thu, 04-29-2010 - 4:57pm
I really don't know which brands are kosher, but I know that Oscar Mayer has lunch meats that are gluten free as well (they will list on their label what allergens are in their product). I hope you can find something that is both kosher and gluten-free. But, if not, I know there are so many other options out there. We don't often eat lunch meat here and when we do, we go with our store brand because it's labeled as gluten-free.
Photobucket


Visit my Blog with lots of gluten-free recipes: http://www.glutenfreebeginnings.info
Photobucket


Visit my Blog with lot
iVillage Member
Registered: 03-19-2003
Fri, 04-30-2010 - 12:17am

Current EU approved additives and their E Numbers

lots of times the e is omitted...


this is the numbers that are thru out the world health org...


Monday 26 April 2010


Most additives are only permitted to be used in certain foods and are subject to specific quantitative limits, so it is important to note this list should be used in conjunction with the appropriate EU Directives which can be viewed via the link at the bottom of this page.



When shopping you can find an additive on the list by first looking for its category, such as colour or preservative, and then looking for its name or number.

This list does not in any way supplement the law in this area, nor constitute legal guidance.



Colours




E100
Curcumin

E101
(i) Riboflavin