C Reactive Protein

iVillage Member
C Reactive Protein
Mon, 05-31-2010 - 12:41am
Hi, I am new to this site. I have been on a gluten-free diet for a year, having found out I have celiac disease. I am also a vegetarian and lactose intolerant.
iVillage Member
Tue, 06-01-2010 - 2:10am

Hello and welcome to our site ..yes chocolate is my down fall also but you can get gf/wf chocolate ..www.cadburys have them..so glad you are here..please post up if you ever need anything

a lot of people might not know what a crp test is here is what it is for those that do not know

iVillage Member
Tue, 06-01-2010 - 11:42pm
Yes, arthritis can cause the test results to be elevated, but it is not specific to arthritis. As gluten can inflame the intestinal tract, with such an improvement over the year of avoiding gluten, I believe that was the source in this case. I'm not an expert in CRP, but a high result can also be a problem for the heart if cholestral levels and blood pressure is high.
iVillage Member
Wed, 06-02-2010 - 5:49pm

Hi yes that is right.that is why things at times are so hard to diagnose

in certain cases,and yes gluten can effect a lot ..i remember once when i was first studying a indian prof/dr who was here told me once in the very early studying ,,said just remember gluten is like poisen,and treat it as such..

my husband suffers with it as you severe pains

iVillage Member
Thu, 06-03-2010 - 1:03am