1st preg at 40, have a couple of ?S

iVillage Member
1st preg at 40, have a couple of ?S
Tue, 08-14-2007 - 11:42am

Hi,

This is my first time posting. I have recently found out I am 9 weeks pregnant. It will be my first pregnancy, and at the age of 40....

I never could believe I could become pregnant. I was told at a young age babies were not in my future, so I did not persue it. So imagine my surpise!

My question: all has to do with testing. I am really behind on figuring this all out, and could use all the help anyone can over. Between my 12 and 13th week, my doctor is sending me for an ultrascreen. He says it is a blood test and measurement of the neck of the baby. When i asked if it is the quad blood screen, he said no. It is a newer test. He is not considering me a high risk. Any other test i want to do is up to me ie amnio or the cvs? test.

First, have yall heard of the ultrscreen he is sending me too? if so, how do yall rate it? also, what do you think of the cvs or amnio test? I know both have miscarriage rates.

Any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated.

Debbie

iVillage Member
Tue, 08-14-2007 - 2:08pm
Hi Debbie, First, congratulations! I wish you a happy and healthy pregnancy!