Second chance at motherhood

iVillage Member
Second chance at motherhood
Sun, 12-27-2009 - 12:44am

Hello everyone...

I'm new to being a part of the message board crowd...but excited. I'm 44 and have been with my wonderful husband for a 3 years. I have 4 beautiful sons from my first marriage (23,18,17, and 13). I had my first child at 20 and my last one at 30. My DH is an only child with no children of his own. This our second attempt at IVF and we just found out we're expecting. I'm 5 weeks pregnant and we are both so excited but VERY anxious that something can go wrong. After having 4 children easily/naturally with a man who didn't care about his children or wife...this is hard for me to deal with infertility problems with my 2nd husband who is the most awesome, loving, and giving man I know.

Every pain, ache, or weird feeling makes me worried something is wrong. I have a bit of spotting after BM's and my ovaries ache on/off throughout the day. My beta level at 2 weeks was 220 and I'm having my first U/S in one week. Any suggestions at putting my mind at ease or coping with worry and stress? Other than stress of being with my ex-husband, I do not remember being worried or stressed about much during my four other pregnancies...

Thanx for any input and I'm happy to have found this message board.

iVillage Member
Sun, 12-27-2009 - 1:36pm

Congratulations! How great for you.
I am pregnant with our first (first for both of us) and I know what you mean. I've had heartburn and sore bbs and I know things are still progressing but that doesn't stop me from asking for more "signs"! I've also had a bit of spotting - mostly when I over do it and stand for too long - scared the beegeebers out of me the first time but I was told it was normal (especially when using progesterone vaginal inserts)
I'm 7 weeks along today and our first U/S is on Tuesday - can't wait - I'm anxious to see a heartbeat!!