? about raising an agnostic child

iVillage Member
? about raising an agnostic child
Mon, 03-02-2009 - 9:08pm

Sorry this is going to end up being kind of long!

My Husband and I are expecting in May... This may be a little early to start thinking about this but it is really important to both of us. Background I went to a private school all my life (Parents were baptized, but did not want me or my brother baptized) but the private school I went to happened to be Catholic. I have a lot of background and info on the Catholic Religion due to my school but never did any of the sacraments. My Husband was raised Lutheran but agrees with me that we want nothing to do with organized religion and do not want the baby even introduced to it. (now when she is a grown up she can make any EDUCATED choice she wants and we will obviously still love her)but our big dilemma is we both agree that we get our higher order thinking and questioning skills from having been involved in organized religion our whole lives. We want the baby to have these questioning skills and be able to think "outside the box" with out involving religion. We cannot come up with another way to teach these skills. I was wondering if anyone has suggestions on how to teach their child to respectfully question what they are taught with out involving any kind of religion.

Thank you for reading!

iVillage Member
Mon, 03-02-2009 - 9:59pm

Well, that wasn't very long! lol
Congratulations on your news!
I think it is never too early to start thinking about raising your child...and I have yet to STOP thinking about raising my children...LOL.
But, especially about religion and freethinking, I think that all of us on this board will agree that the better educated and prepared the parent, the better they will be able to bring a child up in this world.
You said: we get our higher order thinking and questioning skills from having been involved in organized religion our whole lives.