Talking to children about death

iVillage Member
Talking to children about death
Mon, 05-04-2009 - 4:07pm

Hi all,

My son will be turning 4 in a few weeks. Our family cat has kidney disease and we're going to have to put him down soon. I need some help explaining this to my son. Does anyone have any advice or book recommendations for talking to a young child about death?

Thanks,
Michelle

iVillage Member
Mon, 05-04-2009 - 5:45pm

Someone here had suggested "The Fall of Freddy the Leaf" as a great explanation about death for children.

Disney Sig
iVillage Member
Mon, 05-04-2009 - 7:24pm
I'm a school librarian and I highly recommend The Tenth Good Thing About Barney by Judith Viorst. It's about the death of a cat and it's told by a little boy. There are no religious overtones to the book at all which makes it especially good for families like ours. In fact one of the kid's friend says maybe the cat is in heaven and the dad says we can't be sure heaven exists.
Sorry to hear about your cat. It's always hard to lose a beloved member of the family. My youngest was about the same age as your daughter when our dog died. It's hard to explain this stuff to kids.
iVillage Member
Tue, 05-05-2009 - 12:14pm
Thanks so much for your suggestions. I will look for both of these books today.
iVillage Member
Wed, 05-06-2009 - 4:21pm

I am very sorry about your cat. I, too have lost a cat to the same disease and it is so difficult. I am sure you have given kitty a very nice life.