which baby carrier(s) is better?

iVillage Member
which baby carrier(s) is better?
Thu, 08-04-2005 - 8:36pm

I have about 5 different baby carriers; some are new and some are bought gently used;

2 of them are snugli type, front and back carry;
2 are dr sears and LLL sling with ring
1 is maya wrap

The problem is I am not good with any of them (with myself) I always need help, as ds is almost 7 months and weighs 19-20lbs. I am scared I will drop him. I can never use sungli type, my dh uses it well. I like sling, specially maya wrap but sometime ds is figeting (he likes freedom type baby) so support from his butts slips and sometimes he begins to slide down after 20 mins of wearing..what to do and how to get better? I like hip carry most rightnow as that is more convient for ds and me.

I thought of buying a better one but in goggle search, I narrowed it down to 25 brands and type,,,but it is so confusing. Please share your experience. Btw, some slings are like 150 dollars, which is out of my budget, 50 bucks is more reasonable...thanks for your help

Kashi

iVillage Member
Thu, 08-04-2005 - 8:46pm
I like pouch type slings the best, there is one major commercial brand and lots of WAHM's make them, including me! Fit is really important with them, since they aren't adjustable, but once you have the fit right they are the most comfortable sling to use, IMO. They run $25-40 or so.

Sara
WAH Momma to Nicholas 4-7-01 and Katherine 3-9-05

Baby Slings

iVillage Member
Thu, 08-04-2005 - 10:40pm

Check out the site www.thebabywearer.com for good ideas and reviews.