She HATES to be worn!

iVillage Member
She HATES to be worn!
Sat, 11-04-2006 - 9:48pm

Hey everyone, I am a mom of a five-week-old, and this is my first time posting on the AP board. My daughter, Vanessa, HATES to be worn in practically any carrier. I own a wrap and a pouch sling, but she screams whenever I put her in. I've tried putting her in when she's fussy, when she's calm and alert, when she's sleeping...you get the idea...but she always starts howling as soon as I put her in, but of course, she always loves to be held :-)

I thought that I might be putting her in wrong or have an incorrectly sized sling, so I went to a store that specializes in babywearing to see if I was doing something wrong and to try out other carriers, but she still wants nothing to do with them. The woman helping me told me that sometimes babies that young just don't like to be worn, and when she's older she might eventually enjoy it.

My question to all of you is whether or not any of you experienced something similar and when your babies started to enjoy you wearing them. Also, if any of you have tips to help acclimate her to a sling or wrap, it would be much appreciated. I just feel like I must be doing something wrong since you always hear (or at least I do) how much all babies just LOVE to be worn!

TIA

vanessa.jpg

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker
Carolyn Armstrong Gerakines' Facebook profile
Community Leader
Sat, 11-04-2006 - 10:25pm

I remember my DS hated to be worn until he was about 6 months old.

Gail

iVillage Member
Tue, 11-07-2006 - 12:37pm

My baby was having a hard time with being worn at that age, too. I had a baby bjorn that she'd only let my dh use on occasion, and a chinese wrap my mil gave me that I hated (so ugly and scratchy, sorry mil) and I think her head wasn't ready for it and she picked up that I didn't like wearing it.