hello

iVillage Member
hello
Mon, 02-02-2009 - 4:29am

I probably introduced myself several months ago, and then fell away. I'm not sure, to be honest! I've already been posting again, but I thought I'd do a quick intro anyway.

I'm American, my husband is Danish, and we live in Denmark. Our daughter will be five months old on the 10th. Her name is Dagmar Lee, but I usually call her D.L., partly because "Dagmar" is pronounced differently in our two languages. Everyone can say D.L. but some Americans have a hard time with the Danish Dagmar. ;)

I've been in Denmark since July 2007, and I have finally gotten signed up for Danish lessons. They are paid for by the state, and required for permanent residency. I've picked up some while living here, but I'm very excited about the classes! My in-laws' English is not so great, and I'm tired of always asking DH to translate everything.

In high school and college, I studied (but am no where near fluent in) German, French, Latin, Spanish, Russian, Japanese, Arabic, and Finnish. You'll notice no Danish! I am hoping D.L. will get exposed to more languages, but for now we basically do English and home and Danish while out. Her babbling has not picked sides yet. ;)

Oh, and if anyone would like a blinkie, let me know.

Photobucket
iVillage Member
In reply to: lorryfach
Mon, 02-02-2009 - 7:35am

Welcome back to the board then!!!
Your story is a little similar except change the country and natiionality to German! With the name thing it is the same with Magdalena, I hate the way the Americans pronouce it compared to Europeans. We call her Maggie anyhow, but then that is hard for the Germans, lol.