Which language do you mostly use at h...

iVillage Member
Which language do you mostly use at h...
Tue, 05-26-2009 - 9:20am

Which language do you mostly use at home?

• DH’s/SO’s language.
  • Mine
  • A mix of both.
  • Other

You will be able to change your vote.

Pages

iVillage Member
Tue, 05-26-2009 - 9:25am
I'm still learning German- certainly not fluent- but I use as much German as possible with my son, while my partner is continuing in his native English. However we do have the rule that I switch entirely to English (with occasional accidents of German sneaking in) when we're talking as a family.

Love and Light, Joelle

Homeschooling mom to a

Love and Light, Joelle

Homeschooling mom to a 11yr old hydrogen molecule.

Follow me to these boards:

iVillage Member
Wed, 05-27-2009 - 5:43am

We have an English-almost-only household. That is what we decided on when we moved to Greece. It has worked out well. Dd's school life and life with friends etc is conducted entirely in Greek, while with her family it is in English. Since her father does speak Greek fluently, he may sometimes switch to Greek if there is a good reason, but it is rare that he does. When we are out with other people, I always speak English to dd as well, whereas dh may speak to her in Greek if it seems more natural in the context.

ETA: English is, btw, neither my native language nor dh's. He grew up bilingual Greek/German and I grew up in Denmark. Because we met and married in the US, English was the default shared language and we have both used it so long that it does not really seem like a foreign language to either of us (dh moved to the US at age 11, I was 19 when Ianded in North America).

Edited 5/27/2009 5:46 am ET by rollmops2009
iVillage Member
Mon, 06-08-2009 - 6:11am