New, with a few thoughts

iVillage Member
New, with a few thoughts
Thu, 10-01-2009 - 8:00pm

Hello, I'm fairly new to Ivillage and found this board...interesting and thought provoking. Frankly, I can't say that I have ever really thought of circumcision aside from giggling discussions of male anatomy with college friends over pizza. Frankly, I never needed too as, uh, that road was long ago crossed with DH. But now we are talking about TTC (not there yet, but the discussion is happening) and I realize I may have to be the one making that decision in the not so distant future.

I'm not sure whether I am pro-, con- or ambivalent yet... but I am always interested in what makes people and cultures tick so your discussions are very interesting to me and have left me with a few thoughts not so much on the medical side, but on the cultural.

I'm wondering what the modern link is with circumcision is especially with American society. We sometimes seem to lean back to our puritanical roots with regards to sexuality, where it is dirty, naughty,etc. That combined with the realization that circumcision did not become a normal part of society until the Victorian era makes me wonder if it was a societal effort to "cleanse" sexuality, playing on the newly germ-phobic society. With the efforts of Kellogg to prevent and "treat" male masturbation around the same time, I wonder if that was also a motivation in the movement.

Also what I don't get is the idea that a circumcised penis appears "more natural". Granted that I've never actually seen an actually natural one outside of medical textbooks (probably TMI, sorry)... I consider it no more "natural" for a man than a 98lb, Boob-jobbed Lindsay Lohan is an example of a natural woman. It makes me wonder if that is a need to view private parts as aesthetically pleasing, or are "we" so used to seeing the altered parts that the natural is no longer?