C-section on Monday

iVillage Member
C-section on Monday
Thu, 06-03-2010 - 5:13pm
My first son was born by c-section. But it was not planned. It was decided after a few hours in labor and delivery that c-section was the best option. So while I am well aware of what happens during a c-section and afterward I am new to the pre surgery prep. Does any one have any tips or info to share with me? What should I do on Sunday to prepare for Monday? Is there anything you did or brought with you that made it all easier? I am more excited then nervous. But I still want to feel well prepared. I have my last OB appointment on Friday. So I will get the low down on what they want me to do before hand. Just curious if anyone else has any thoughts or words of encouragement before I go.

Photobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
Photobucket
iVillage Member
Thu, 06-03-2010 - 9:37pm

Request from your doctor that he NOT have you drink Reglan (if he does it..not all do)...it tastes awful, and from what I can tell, serves no real purpose. I puked mine up after drinking it, and they said, "oh well, we won't have you do it again, it's not that important..."

I just packed the "normal" stuff (lol other than labor balls and such) I did bring lots of "soft, stretchy" clothes for my long hospital stay...I didn't want to stay in a nightgown for 3-4 days!! Same thing for baby..I liked dressing her in her own clothes...Lots of magazines to read, etc...