Going to 2x/day...YIKES!

iVillage Member
Going to 2x/day...YIKES!
Thu, 11-05-2009 - 1:08am

Hi all

Well, it looks like I need to go ahead and drop to 2x/day. RIght now I pump every 9-11 hours (sometimes 2x/day and sometimes 3x/day) I had not planned on dropping this early but I just got switched from night shift to day shift.
I am a CCU nurse and right now I work 7p-7a. I can pump once at work without too much trouble. But starting Monday I will be working 7a-7p. I just really doubt I will be able to sneak away for 45 min during the day shift to go pump (ya know, set up..pump..cleanup) as it is much much busier during the day and most of the time day shift nurses don't even get a break!

So I will have to pump before and after work. 5:30 am and 7:30 pm
That's 14 hours! YIKES!

I am going to take a little tupperware bowl with me so I can sneak off and hand express for a few minutes if I need to.

I know I'll likely loose a good deal of my supply (currently 26-32 oz/day) but hopefully I can make it at 2x/day for a few more months. I have a huge freezer stash so as long as DS will drink it then we should be set for a few months.

Right now my goal is one year which is right around the corner!

Liz

Lilypie First Birthday tickers

Collier 8 months

Pages

iVillage Member
Thu, 11-05-2009 - 1:21am

hey Liz it's me your twin again LOL. Funny, I just posted about turning 9 months and thinking of weaning because of decreased supply, and here you are worried about dropping to 2x and losing supply... are we ever NOT on the same page? LOL

I know how you feel, I would be scared to drop to 2x too... my supply took a real big hit when I dropped from 4 to 3, and I got clogs and mastitis for the first time when I dropped. Do u think you could manage a quickie pump at work? Like 15 mins or so? It's not gonna empty you but atleast it'll help keep the engorgement and clogs at bay.

Good luck and let us know it goes!

Photobucket
Photobucket
iVillage Member
Thu, 11-05-2009 - 3:12am