Absolutely Exhausted- need help!

iVillage Member
Absolutely Exhausted- need help!
Tue, 08-17-2004 - 6:35pm
I am only 6 weeks along and am absolutely exhausted. Is this normal?!?

I'm sure part if it is the fact that I am a band teacher who teaches at 2 schools and sees 180 kids a day. School just started on Monday, but I've been doing "teacher meetings" for a week, so that's one reason I'm tired.

I have had the luxury of summer off- now it is back to the grind, but for the first time I'm expecting as I work. My job is tough- I start at 6:30 am and sometimes go until 8:00 at night- longer when there's a football game! There's a lot of stress- mostly positive stress, but stress nonetheless.

I haven't told my students yet- so I'm trying to stay up, up, up around them. But on my break, sometimes I sit at my desk, it's 9:30 in the am, and I am so tired I just want to put my head down and nap!

When I do get home at a decent time, I'm so tired I fall asleep on the couch during the 6:00 news! My poor hubby is feeling neglected- and I have NO libido whatsoever.

I'm always tired at the beginning of a school year even without a pregnancy. I worry a lot about how all this will affect my pregnancy. I am so excited to be pregnant- we've been trying for a year, and I get to be a SAHM once my baby is born. But I've got to make it through this school year! (well, most of it!)

Any tips on overcoming this exhaustion? Any ideas to keep stress levels low? Anyone else managing a high stress job with a pregnancy? I feel so overwhelmed.
iVillage Member
Wed, 08-18-2004 - 1:28am