Question about Maternity wear!

iVillage Member
Question about Maternity wear!
Wed, 10-11-2006 - 12:08pm

Hi everyone,

My name is Dot and I am a Stanford graduate student currently enrolled in a Management Science & Engineering class. Our team is working on a project geared towards expecting mothers and maternity wear.

I was hoping to get some feedback from experienced moms/ first-time moms about your past experiences with purchasing maternity wear. We were hoping to get an insight into any frustrations or problems that you might have encountered in terms of the quality, variety and affordability of the clothes in the market.

From talking with pregnant women/ moms, I have been getting feedback that it's very difficult to find quality clothes that can last through different trimesters without costing a bomb, and the fact that it's very difficult to keep buying clothes as your body size changes. Most women have complained that clothes are either really cheap (and ugly) or too expensive (and stylish) that they couldn't afford to sink in money to buy something that they would only wear for each trimester until the next baby comes.

Do any of you have additional concerns/frustrations?

I would greatly appreciate any feedback you can offer, and I look forward to hearing from you soon!

Best Regards,
Dot

iVillage Member
Wed, 10-11-2006 - 3:10pm

I guess most manufacturer's feel that since you will only be wearing the clothes for a short time, why put the quality in them.

iVillage Member
Thu, 10-12-2006 - 7:12am