New here and I need your secrets!

iVillage Member
New here and I need your secrets!
Sun, 07-18-2010 - 4:19pm

Hello - I'm a newbie. I thought I'd introduce myself. I was a teacher until June. I am now a SAHM and will be homeschooling my 8 year old son. I figured that summer would be a good time to get my budget in order and try to save money. My first order of business was to cut the grocery budget. My goal was $400 a month for groceries, cleaning supplies and toiletries. In June, I spent over $600. In July so far, I've spent $350 and I have 2 weeks left to buy food! (I pretty sure I can keep July under $500, but I'm really hoping for closer to $400) HELP! What do you do to get your grocery bills down to a reasonable level? There are 4 people in our family: me, my husband. a 1 year old and an 8 year old. It's not unreasonable to think that I can keep it under $400 or $500 is it? What do you or do you not purchase in order to keep your grocery budget reasonable?
PS - there are no discount grocery stores nearby, although I can find one about 30-45 minutes away. I'm trying to decide if it's worth the gas money to get there.

Thanks in advance!

Feb 09 Siggy

Feb 09 Siggy

Pages

iVillage Member
Sun, 07-18-2010 - 6:37pm

Hi Tamie! You'll find some awesome resources here.
What helps me keep my grocery bill down is to meal plan. I check my pantry, freezer and fridge first and then check out our sales flyers and plan around that. Do you just have a regular grocery store and not a Wal Mart or whatever near by?

I think the things that help me out the most are: making a menu plan, making a grocery list (and sticking to it!) and buying my groceries with cash. Then I can't go over.

Hope that helps! I'm sure others will jump in as well!

Oh, also check online for coupons you can print and take to the store. There are tons of websites with printable coupons.

Jill

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Jill