Ouch! Insult to injury...

iVillage Member
Ouch! Insult to injury...
Fri, 08-27-2010 - 12:25pm

This morning I went by my office (I'm a professor but on sabbatical this semester to finish working on my book) and stopped by our department's senior administrator to say hello. She knows about my TTC w/IF and is a very sweet, kind, and supportive woman. But, she is also a proud grandma of a newborn. So when we were chatting, she asked me point blank if I was pg yet. Ouch. I said, as cheerily as I could, "not yet, but still hoping and trying." She said, "oh I am so sorry. But hey, want to look at pictures of the new grand baby? You should appreciate them!" Um, no, not really. Can't say I'd be all that appreciative of looking at pictures of a newborn baby right now, especially as I *think* I am about to O and DP is rushing to get back into town and I am stressed that all the stress will be for nothing if I don't get pg this cycle.

I wish I hadn't had to tell people at work- when I had my surgery and had to miss a few days, I knew I needed to let my department chair and a couple of others know, including this woman. She really is a sweet lady, but that was a painful conversation. I told her I would love to see the pics but had a meter running and didn't want to get a ticket. I hightailed it out of there as fast as I could!

Andrea

baby 1 

Thanks to Chrissy over at SMFB for my AMAZING siggy!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket
Lilypie Maternity tickers

May Baby

<
iVillage Member
Fri, 08-27-2010 - 9:38pm

Oh my goodness I cannot believe even after she heard you had still not been successful she asked if you want to look at pictures! Sometimes I cannot believe what people say. If that is not a clear indication some people do not think before they talk I do not know what is.