New to this

iVillage Member
New to this
Fri, 07-16-2010 - 7:01pm

Hey Ladies :)

I am new to the IVF world. My husband and I have been trying for 2 1/2 years for our first little one. We have been seeing a RE for a year a half and have done 3 IUI cycles (per insurance request). We had a ovarian cyst set us back 6 months but last Dec we had our first IUI which lead to a biochemical pregnancy. I have polycystic ovaires so often I will not get a period so in Jan when my period never came I went in to the clinic for provera labs only to discover that I was pregnant again. Well, we had the same end results... another biochemical (2 in 60 days). So after my body had some time to recover we just had 2 back to back IUI cycles (May and June) ending in BFN each time. I feel very fortunate to live in Massachusetts where most of the treatment is covered through insurance. We had to do 3 cycles of IUI before the RE could submit for IVF approval. So this is where I am now... we went yesterday (July15th) for our IVF consult. DH and I are traveling to Europe for a much needed vacation and hopefully when I get home all the paperwork will have gone through and we can start injections on the 14th of August. The RE gave me BCP and a list of instructions and medications that will be coming up next month. I have alot of mixed emotions and I am not sure that I am ready for this, but I guess we have to try all options.

iVillage Member
In reply to: jacmac1109
Sat, 07-17-2010 - 1:20pm

Hello there,

Welcome to the Board.

Chris

Me, 38, dh, 35

3 IUI's - BFN

IVF #1 - Jan '08 - BFP - beautiful baby boy born 10/10/08

IVF cycle #2 - TTC

iVillage Member
In reply to: jacmac1109
Fri, 07-16-2010 - 7:55pm

Well, welcome to the board and sorry to hear of all your bio chem pregnancies.