Depressed and Desire-less

iVillage Member
Depressed and Desire-less
Mon, 03-22-2010 - 9:08pm

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting here, and my first time poating this question *anywhere*.

I'm 28, my husband is 33. We've been married for seven years (in July) and I suffer from severe depression and anxiety. I've been in treatment for close to eight years (medication mainly, therapy when we can afford it because no one will insure me). My question is: how do I get my desire back. I've been on every medication under the sun- the ones that work wreak even worse havoc on my desire and when I'm not on medication or "good" medication, I can't get out of bed, am suicidal.... bad stuff.

I always read that lack of desire can come from depression, and to try switching to a different medication but that's not an option.  I'm ashamed to say I've "faked it"- being in the mood, not even the orgasm part. But I can't imagine our lives without that intimacy forever. Before the depression and medication my drive was stronger even than his. Now it's all I can do to have sex once a month (because he has been going through bad times of his own and I know sex helps him feel closer to me).

I just want to know if there is someone out there who is like me, and who has maybe found a way to get those feelings back. Or if there isn't some advice.... something, anything.

For all the things we've been through together, I just wish that we could take the physical solace of lovemaking in each other. Please help, and please pray (those that do) or just think good thoughts for us.

Thank you.

Anni

iVillage Member
Wed, 03-24-2010 - 4:34am

Hi Anni, and welcome to the board.