This is so embarrassing.

iVillage Member
This is so embarrassing.
Thu, 07-29-2010 - 12:41am

But, I haven't had a period in almost eight months. This isn't abnormal for me since I usually go long periods of time without a menstrual cycle. It was on and off all year during the 08' - 09' year of college. The last time I remember having it was the end of December last year at the end of the school semester. I don't have the money to go to the doctor since I'm a dull time student, unemployed and am currently paying off a gall bladder surgery I had in November. So if anyone could give me some advice, I'd love that.

I doubt that I could do to the doctor even if I could, because I'm always very afraid that something serious WILL be wrong, so I'd rather just deny everything. That and this is a very embarrassing problem and I'm extremely shy. XD

I'm not sexually active, in fact, I've never had a boyfriend...so there isn't a problem there.

Edited 7/29/2010 12:45 am ET by wolfsong442
iVillage Member
Thu, 07-29-2010 - 7:48am

Not sure where you are from, but look into clinics that offer services with or without insurance. We have an amazing Nurse practitioner in our town and its only $40 a visit. You pay her whatever you can upfront then make arrangements for the rest. Im sure there is something

iVillage Member
Thu, 07-29-2010 - 2:10pm

Hello -

there is nothing to be embarrassed about anymore than you'd have need of being embarrassed about gallbladder trouble; our menstrual cycles are natural parts of us!

So many things bear on our cycles. If you are significantly underweight or overweight, if you are diabetic, and a million other things. Call your local health department and ask for an appointment with their family planning or reproductive health section. You'll be able to see

iVillage Member
Mon, 08-02-2010 - 3:26pm