New to Board-Would Apperciate Advice on

iVillage Member
New to Board-Would Apperciate Advice on
Sat, 07-10-2010 - 11:59am
 have been reading many of your posts, and would appreciate any advice or help you can give me. I have been having symptoms of Hyperthyroidism: weight loss, fatigue, heart palpitations, severe leg and joint pain, shortness of breath, high blood pressure (suddenly), trouble sleeping, irritability, shakiness. I think that covers them all.

About 4 months ago I went to my doctor, she felt a nodule in my thyroid; which I have been complaining about to other doctors for a couple of years. My throat hurts constantly and I have a persistent cough. Which I know is coming from irritation to my throat. Anyway, she ordered TSH test which came back normal - 0.684.

I went back a month later, with worsening symptoms, and she said it felt as if the nodule had grown. I forgot to mention I also have numerous swollen glands in my neck. She ordered another TSH test, along with free T4, and an iodine uptake test and scan. Here are the results of those tests:

TSH level - 0.596
Free T4 - 1.47

Findings of the Scan and Uptake:

6 hour thyroid uptake calculated at 14.7% , at 24 hours 21.7%, both with in normal range of limits.

"Suggest that the palpable nodule in the upper pole of the right thyroid lobe is an adenoma which, in view of the normal T4 and TSH values, and the presence of uptake in the remainder of the gland, is an adenoma that is responsive to hormonal control."

"Thyroid scan consisted of 4 images obtained in the AP, both oblique views and an AP view with a marker in the palpable nodule.