Camera & lingo cheat sheet...

iVillage Member
Camera & lingo cheat sheet...
Thu, 11-13-2008 - 7:06pm

First I must say that I am only a beginner and what I write is based on the little that I’ve learned since getting SBGC (6/30/08) and my interpretation of what I’ve learned.  I hope it’s as accurate as possible and please don’t shoot me if I mess up.  Hahaha!  :O)

So…I decided to write up a cheat sheet of some of the commonly used photography lingo that I use in some of my posts and that I have picked up from other sites.  Some are official lingo and some are my own wacky made up lingo!  :O)  And I also added camera settings and a brief description of each setting and camera modes and what they do.  I hope that this list is complete and covers all of the bases.  But if there is anything missing on the list that you’d like to see, give me a holler and I’ll add it to the list.  If I don’t know the answer, I will do my best to find it because if I don’t know it yet, I need too!  Lol!

Okay…here we go…

ACR...Adobe Camera Raw.  It's a plugin that comes with Adobe products (PSE, full PS and LR {Light Room}) that allows you to edit your raw images.  One thing to know, if you have an old version of PS and a newer camera, you might not be able to use ACR to edit your RAW files.  Sometimes you just need to go to Adobe and download the newest ACR plugin, but chances are your camera may be too new for the ACR plugin in your older PS.  You can either upgrade your PS, use the DNG converter (found on Adobe's site...it transfers your raw files from your camera into a standard raw format that PS can read) or use the software that came with your camera.

OOF...out of focus

SOOC ~ straight out of camera

PP ~ post processing (photo edit)

PS ~ photo shop

SBGC ~ sweet baby girl canon (what I named my camera haha)