just a thought...can it? Confused....

iVillage Member
just a thought...can it? Confused....
Wed, 06-30-2010 - 10:49pm

Hi...

I was looking into something and saw this site in regards to anxiety and I'm just wondering if anyone has heard of it. I'm pretty new with all of this, and it seems interesting and was wondering if this can be true? Here is the website:

http://www.selfhelpzone.com/anxiety-panic/unleashing-the-child-inside-you-in-how-to-dispose-of-anxiety-and-panic/

This is my first time hearing about this...has anyone else heard of this before? If so, can it be dealt with? Just confused....

Thanks...

iVillage Member
Thu, 07-01-2010 - 12:32am

It's not uncommon for anxiety sufferers to realize that events from our childhoods have affected how we cope with life as adults. What that link seems to be talking about is focusing on your inner child. It's a therapy technique that can be affective for some people. It's not as if it's an easy, one shot deal solution to anxiety, though. Inner child work is more often about learning how to comfort and support ourselves, focusing on the struggles we went through in childhood.

Here's a link that explains a little more.

http://www.aest.org.uk/innerchild/what-is-innerchild-therapy.php

Do you have a therapist that you are currently seeing? They would be able to help you explore this line of self examination.

Take care,
Jess

iVillage Member
Thu, 07-01-2010 - 9:24am

Interesting...has anyone ever went through it? If so, was it painful?

Anyway, thanks...

iVillage Member
Thu, 07-01-2010 - 10:31am

John Bradshaw wrote a book titled "Homecoming" which is about championing your inner child. I think the book is almost 20 years old, but probably still relevant. It is interesting, but I think the outcome depends on lots of things. Some people have memories that are very tightly locked up, and ultimately you have to learn to deal with the sensations you experience now- if that makes sense.