self-esteem and anxiety disorder

iVillage Member
self-esteem and anxiety disorder
Sun, 03-30-2003 - 9:16pm
Hi all,

This is my first time posting on the new board. I have a question about self-esteem and it's possible correlation with anxiety disorder. My roommate is an unbelievably anxious person to the point that she tries to control everything in her life-including making me work around her schedule! She is EXTREMELY smart (well at least a hard worker) and has a VERY high gpa, made Dean's List all 4 years each semester, a member of 3 honor societies. I would think doing that well in school would really contribute to a high self-esteem. That does not seem to be the case. I notice that every time anyone suggests she try one career after another she says I can't, I don't think I can do that. For some reason she has trouble believing in herself. She also does not trust anyone or the world itself and is constantly safety conscious, paranoid and very difficult to be with. She has this need to control everything in her life by planning every detail of what she does from going out at night to eating at the dining hall, to studying. In addition, she is constantly worried about what if's instead of being positive. This negative outlook, pessimism, and extreme anxiety about life in general is really going to affect her chances to have a successful career and a happy life. Is it possible she has an anxiety disorder?

Benita- her roommate
iVillage Member
Mon, 03-31-2003 - 4:07pm
Hi Lisa,