BLOW TO SELF ESTEEM

iVillage Member
BLOW TO SELF ESTEEM
Sat, 04-05-2003 - 10:32pm
Hi.

This is my first time posting though I've been reading the board for several days. My self esteem recently got another blow. I gained a lot of weight during the past year and it made me feel so depressed that I wasn't able to do anything constructive about it. I recently decided that I was going to watch my diet and finally start to exercise. When I told my freinds about it they ridicued my decision. Like I had become such a whale that there was no hope of me losing weight. It made me feel so bad. I almost lost my resolve to try to lose weight. I thought that they were right, that there was no hope for me. Then I started to read about other people's experiences on this and the weight management boards and I decided that if other people could make positive changes in their lives then maybe I could do it too. At least I could give it a try.

The problem now is that now I feel so hurt and angry at my friends, that I don't want to be around them any more. I don't want to be around people who see me in such a negative light that they make me feel bad about myself. I don't know what to do. Should I forgive my friends or should I try to seek out people who can give me more positive support (I've considered joining Weight Watchers). What does everyone think?

iVillage Member
Mon, 04-07-2003 - 2:57pm
Hi nitespirit!

First off, congrats on your descion to try and lose weight and to stick with it!!! I'm sure you can do it if you just put your mind to it!!!!