just need a little pick me up

iVillage Member
just need a little pick me up
Mon, 04-07-2003 - 12:25am
Hi everyone,

I just found this message board but from what I've seen everyone seems a little supportive. I've been depressed before (was on Luvox for about a year) and gained a lot of weight - but mostly had my life back in order so I went off it. This year (I'm a student) has been a rough one, I've tried letting go of an ex (we've been broken up for a year now) and dealing with bad roommates.... I am starting to feel so sad again, I've been so bitter and resentful this year that I've ruined nearly all of my friendships beyond repair. My ex has moved on, and I'm still thinking about the good old times, I don't wish to be with him anymore but its the kinda "I wish I had done this better" kinda thinking. I guess I'm starting to feel really lonely, and I'm not sure what to do. I definitely don't want to go back on antidepressents - I'm not thinking of death/suicide, I'm just really lonely and wish I had some good friends to just kick back and have a good laugh with. I have a counsellor but she is always so booked up and I actually don't feel like I connect with her. I wish to switch counsellors, and I plan on doing that tomorrow. I'm not very overweight but I am a little chubby - I work out a lot but I just feel so worthless compared to so many of the other girls on campus. Everyone seems to be a size 2 and I'm a size 9. I've got a lot going for me, I just can't shake these feelings and I just want to feel better about myself, I just don't know how to go about doing it.

I know this is all kinda confusing and stuff, but I think right now all I need to know is that there are some really supportive people out there.

Thanks for your time :)
iVillage Member
Mon, 04-07-2003 - 12:59pm