Needing to Cope with my Life Better

iVillage Member
Needing to Cope with my Life Better
Tue, 07-01-2003 - 10:13am
Hello,

This is my first time on this board and I've read a few posts. Please bear with me, because I'm feeling kinda down right now and wondering what the heck is wrong with me. My life is blessed in many ways and my faith is strong. This may sound whiny but really it's venting.

Am really wondering what the heck is wrong with me. It feels like I'm not managing my life well right now at all and I wonder how others seems to have it all together and are in better control of their lives.

I believe the thing that adds much to my depression is my job. It's not the job, it's working 11pm -7:30 am and having to work weekends. I truly Hate working this shift for a couple of reasons. #1, it is not normal for your body and I am just sick and tired of being sick and tired. Of fighting my body clock. The past 2 nights I've called in sick to work, basically because of exhaustion/depression. The other piece is working this shift- one feels as if you're always trying to fit your screwed up schedule into the "normal" world.

For example, Sat. night I'd worked and slept from 10:00am - 2:30pm and got up and dressed to go to a birthday barbecue. The party had actually started @1:00 and my son was already there. My husband waited for me to get ready and we arrived together. I'd complained to him - saying "How would you feel if you had to get up @2:00 in the morning to go to a function?" and he said he never really thought of it like that. And someone made a comment about my being late. Hey, it was the best I could do- to get there when I did.

I feel like I can never get my act together. On my nights off, I enjoy being up during the day and sleeping @night. It is a treat.