So lost on what to do

iVillage Member
So lost on what to do
Tue, 07-01-2003 - 8:55pm
Hi,

I have been a web designer for 2 years now and I love it. I used to be a copywriter but I hated that. I am self taught in web design and work for a great company.

However, I get no support which, in turn just eats away at my self esteem.

Two years ago I received my very own account to manage. However, the client can't let go of my boss, who used to manage it. And every time she has questions or advice she goes to him or the database girl. It's a total slap in my face. I offer advice, suggestions, show enthusiasim to her on her project but it's like 'yea yea, be a nice girl while I talk to the REAL people."

Same with work. The site I work on needs a redesign. I decided here's my chance to show them I have talent in design. I researched and started on 5 different prototypes. The whole time my boss kept saying to me "yea that's nice but we need a REAL designer on it." What the f***??? I don't want to hear that "REAL" designer bull****. Everyone in my company was at one time something else so no one is a 'real' anything. I KNOW in my heart and soul I am a very good designer. It's just applying the technology to it that is my downfall at the moment. It just takes me slightly longer since I am self taught and have only done this now for 2 years. But again, I have excellent design sense. My friend who is a designer always asks me for advice and every time he goes with my advice, his project is winning hands down with his clients.

Finally at work, the problem is that the CEO tells me one thing but doens't tell my boss. For example, the CEO wants me and my boss to work closer. Great. I"m up for it. However my boss knows nothing about it and it's hard for me to go up to him and say "you know the CEO said you have to work closer with me." Why is it my job to be the messenger when no one takes me as serious as it is???