Long...I'm deperate for help!!! Please!!

iVillage Member
Long...I'm deperate for help!!! Please!!
Wed, 07-16-2003 - 8:50am
This is my first time posting here. It may all just be my depression, but I’m feeling very very low. I’m starting to question my intelligence BIG TIME here. I’m 21(soon to be 22) and a senior in college, Wittenberg University to be exact. The first two years I did horrible and I attribute that to me not being happy with what I was doing (Management), My Junior year I declared a Psychology major, a little late but I can still graduate on time. My GPA before I started this major was 2.5 due to my depression and all. I’ve brought it up to 2.7 because last semester I received straight A’s with 3.8 GPA for the semester. I thought this was an accomplishment, but I’m starting to think now that anyone can get straight A’s if they try hard enough. My first two years are starting to haunt me as well. All of my profs love me (not sure why) Dr. Jo has even told me that I’m one of the smartest students she’s had in a while, but I’m starting to believe the only reason she said that was to make me feel better. My profs keep asking me if I want to do an honors thesis but they keep forgetting my GPA is way too low to do that. Dr. Jo says that I might not be able to go for my PhD because I probably won’t be able to get into a program with the GPA that I have now. That’s all fine and good because I could go for my masters get certified and then go on and get my PhD. She also told me that I should go for my PsyD, but the way she talked they are somewhat inferior I guess they have a lot of trouble publishing papers. Plus I’m having trouble finding out what exactly in the field of psychology I want. The day before last I called for an internship mentioning the name of dr. Jo, but I don’t think the receptionist put that part. He called back last night and told me to send him a Vita and I was like “A what” a vita. I had no clue what it was and I felt absolutely stupid