Work Woes - HELP!!!

iVillage Member
Work Woes - HELP!!!
Tue, 07-29-2003 - 10:48am
Hi everyone, I have not posted in some time but now I need to. I need some feedback and some sound advice. Here is the situation.....

I don't like my job and haven't for some time now; I think I have mentioned that here before. But I feel mistreated and not appreciated at all here and it is starting to really get to me. I have a college degree like most everyone else here but am still second to the lowest position in the office after a year and three months. I apply to other positions in my department but have not been interviewed once for another, higher paying post. Yesterday I was TOLD that I have been put on a committee to screen and hire a new person to a position above me, one that I should be considered for but now can't even apply for since I was put on the committee. It is so maddening!

I am thinking that if I am not qualifed to be promoted then I am not qualified to help hire someone else. I want to refuse to be on the committee and inform them that I am actively looking for another position elsewhere. I am doing that but nothing has turned up (I live in a smaller town) and I do need a job to pay my bills.

A sidenote here... I do everything that is asked of me promptly and efficiently. I am cooperative and helpful when I can be.

So, the question is: Do I say something and stand up for myself or do I try to be thankful that I have a job and keep quiet?

PLEASE HELP!!!

"The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated." ~Gandhi

iVillage Member
In reply to: wredd
Tue, 07-29-2003 - 12:47pm
Please pause before you say anything to your boss. I don't think it's a good idea to tell them you are looking for a new job. I know you are upset but don't do anything sudden. Try to blow off some steam first.