Feel so small

iVillage Member
Feel so small
Thu, 11-20-2008 - 2:13pm

I feel so low at work. I have worked here for 3 years, and my background is all English: writing, editing and so on. So, that is what I do at my work. The team I work on is comprised of members who have a math, science or business background. Since it's an Internet company, things always shift, I've moved around a bit, and am now on this team going forward. My issue is really with my self esteem. In that I have none. I'm not sure why, I feel I'm smart, a good person, attractive and funny, yet this doesn't translate into social situations like meetings. I get so nervous that I feel my heart pounding, and I clam up. I get speech paralysis, where instead of focusing on choosing the best answer for my boss I quickly blurt out something so that the attention can be turned elsewhere.