New

iVillage Member
New
Sat, 03-21-2009 - 10:03am

Hey all. I am new here and just wanted to say I have read some of your replies and realized that there are some very wise people here. I am sad to say that I am 56 year old woman that just realized that all the bad stuff that has happened to me in my life is due to my very poor self esteem. I was always looking at what was wrong with everyone else instead of spending the time looking at myself and working on my issues. I am just beginning to look at myself in a more real light and find that there is more work to do. I admire the honesty on this board and look forward to learning more about self esteem from a womans point of view. Want to so badly like myself better rather than getting my sense of self from other people(mostly men). Looking forward to making new friends and learning from everyone.

Pat
iVillage Member
In reply to: redreiner
Sat, 03-21-2009 - 12:35pm

You know its not even gender thing....I believe its really about how you relate to yourself.

Fortunately unlike external relationships our relationship with ourselves is something you have the power to change....I say that having been on that journey myself....

The further I go down my own journey the more I realize self esteem is largely tied up in how we relate to ourselves. Do we have respect based relationship with ourselves or do we have shame based relationship with ourselves.

I also think we tend to seek out other people who will reinforce our existing relationship with ourselves. If we treat ourselves badly I think we will tend to seek out bonds with others who also teat us badly, because it is in way a self affirming kind of act (albeit a dysfunctional one).

When we start to have a respect based relationship with ourselves we're less likely to tolerate external relationships that don't reinforce and support that way of being.

I honestly hope this is helpful, and I'd love to know if you find it helpful.

iVillage Member