My bio

iVillage Member
My bio
Fri, 04-03-2009 - 7:32pm

I Have always been TOLD that I suffer low self esteem and that I believe it true.
But, I do truly know about challenges in life that make us feel lower than others.
I grew up Fatte than my sister and brother and cousins. I wore glasses that were cheap and not in style. Being very poor I wore clothing that dear grandma made for me. To big and not right. Hee hee according to me. I was frequently told that I was fat and probably not find a boyfriend. I couldn't understand most mathematics, and science. I loved art though. and I loved geography and travel. I had no dates in high school nor did I attend my prom.
I worked as a nurses aid after high school. We lived in a tiny town where everyone knew each other. It soon became apparent to me that this was going to be my life. Or I would marry someone that I didn't like just to be married. And I was scared of men then.
I saved money for 1.5 years and planned my move to California. San Francisco to be exact.
Here there would be jobs and young people and people who didn't know how I grew up.
Well I found out my personality went with me every where. Even out here. The me in Portsmouth is still me in San Francisco. And jobs were hard to get. There was a law ( in San Francisco) that you had to reside in SF for 6 months to get a job. So I had to work "under the table so to speak". And rent, Gosh !! Nothing like my tiny town's lower prices.
But mainly this was just the beginning of - hell! Family problems, and rape for my sister, drugs on the horizon for my brother. DD & DM faced bankruptcy. And I was way out here and not financially capable of helping, nor visiting them. I cried and cried. No one to be with and no one to go some place with no one to spend a holiday with. Fat , ugly, depressed and later I found out had that I had inherited a mild form of bi polar disease. The world hated me.