I'm a newbie

iVillage Member
I'm a newbie
Wed, 04-15-2009 - 1:31pm

I all

I believe it's the first time I'm posting on this board. I was just wondering how you all handle being around people who intimidate you?

I tend to get nervous and quiet around people who are smarter than I am, more knowledgeable, more successful...etc. It also really depends on their personalities and whether or not I feel I can relate or "click" with them. I feel as though I can't be myself...maybe b/c a part of me actually believes that I am on a "lower level" than they are, like I'm not as good as they are.

I really hate feeling this way. I observe other people and I notice that they clearly don't have the same problem as I do. It makes me wonder where we get our personalities from, and why we act the way we do.

Any thoughts, comments, suggestions? It would be appreciated. Thanks.

~Jennifer

Pages

iVillage Member
Tue, 04-28-2009 - 9:41am

thanks for sharing the anecdotes :) i know what you mean about feeling intimidated around young professors, but they were in your shoes at one point not too long ago! sometimes when i feel intimidated i imagine the intimidator in their underwear and then i feel better. also, your friend in class does sound cute and maybe you can take a couple of pointers from her

iVillage Member
Sun, 04-26-2009 - 9:39am

Hey jackeev75