Is it low self-esteem or something else?

iVillage Member
Is it low self-esteem or something else?
Mon, 07-13-2009 - 2:03pm

Hi, I'm new but I've been lurking on here for a few weeks.

I have this issue and I am not sure how to explain it properly but please allow me to try:

I'm in my late 20s and essentially I am just getting started with my career. It took me a few years longer to graduate from college than most of my friends, when they were getting their first jobs, I was still babysitting and taking classes at night. Basically, I feel like I've had a late start in my career and I have some major regrets about that but that's almost another story. I am mentioning the late start stuff because I often wonder if I just never got the real lessons about a workplace and I feel kind of old to be in this dilemma.

The thing is, since I started to get those "real" jobs after college I was still trying to define what the heck is that I'm trying to do with my life career wise, since my degree was a fairly useless Political Science degree. So I bounced around from doing administrative jobs, couple of receptionist jobs and 2 jobs in sales. I wasn't;t too happy with any of them but the last two jobs in sales brought me a little more satisfaction so I think about a year ago I decided that I should "settle into that". It's not really a choice measured by a sheer passion but the fact that my first job in sales brought me a lot of success- I was always the #1 salesperson in my department, getting good clients, developing good client relationships, etc. But that was then. I left that job because I wanted to "better" myself.
I have a new job in sales and it's like a step up in a way because the company is more prestigious, I have a better title and my clients are more "high end". By the way, I sell advertising space for a national magazine associated with pretty high end stuff.