Failure

iVillage Member
Failure
Thu, 02-11-2010 - 4:09pm
Hello, I'm not sure if this is the board I should be in, but it seems to be the best fit. I have just seen a psychologist and have been diagnosed with an adjustment disorder. In general I don't consider myself to have low self-esteem, but for the time-being I do. I am in my 2nd year teaching and am absolutely hating it. I feel like I am doing a bad job because I get really unhappy with my class really easily. I used to consider myself to be a patient and calm person but I'm not like that anymore and I hate it. My principal gives me mostly negative feedback and says I'm not doing as well as I should be at this point. I feel like quitting but I know I at least owe it to the kids to stick it out to the end of the year. But after that, I really want to quit. The thing I'm most worried about though is feeling like a failure. I have wanted to be a teacher for most of my life, and quitting after 2 years sounds awful. But I just can't live the way I'm living right now. I am constantly saying how bad of a teacher I am and how much I hate it. I've never truly felt like a failure at anything before, and this is really scary and difficult for me. I don't know what I'm looking for here exactly, maybe just some support or some thoughts. Thanks for reading :)
iVillage Member
In reply to: charlie_cat09
Fri, 02-12-2010 - 1:46pm