*NEWBIE* Uber-Low Self Esteem

iVillage Member
*NEWBIE* Uber-Low Self Esteem
Wed, 05-05-2010 - 10:36pm

Hello All,

First time posting on this board :)

Long story short - I'm almost 30. I have a great job, a masters degree, own my condo, car, and have an incredible wardrobe. I'm in good shape, healthy and have good friends. BUT I feel empty.

My boyfriend of 4 years, who I thought I would marry, dumped me after New Years this year and I've been miserable since then. I figured out I am battling depression caused by what my therapist has called 'low self esteem' caused by childhood neglect from both my parents, especially my Dad. I can rhyme off lists why I think I should feel good about myself, I can have others tell me why I am great but deep down, I don't believe or internalize any of it.

My therapist recommended writing down all of my positives 3 x a day...but it is exhausting and I am getting annoyed and writing stuff like "held the door for someone".

Any tips on where to start building self esteem?

I've always assumed self esteem is tied to perfection (I'm a perfectionist) and perfection is not attainable. How do you become OK with who you are?

iVillage Member
Thu, 05-06-2010 - 8:59am

hey, trouble, welcome to the board. you're right, there's no such thing as being perfect.

iVillage Member
Thu, 05-06-2010 - 7:10pm

Thanks for your response. I've never thought of doing the column thing...

It is a good idea .. there are some things that I don't like about myself that I can change.. I'm just lazy about them or embarrassed to deal with them.

Will write more and contribute to this board as I start my journey...

iVillage Member
Fri, 05-07-2010 - 2:51pm

"I've always assumed self esteem is tied to perfection..."

Where would you get that idea? Oh wait, I know! The neglectful parents, that is where.