Anyone depressed on here?

iVillage Member
Anyone depressed on here?
Fri, 06-04-2010 - 12:03pm

I've been clinically depressed for over 2 years! I know, I cannot believe it myself. I've been trying to self diagnose for that long as well and I'm pretty certain that it is a clinical depression I have because I have completed the check list and have 8/10 symptoms short of suicidal ideation and not being able to get out of bed. At best, I have a severe case of "regular" depression. Other disorders I came up with by online research are: a moderate case of OCD (obsessive racing thoughts albeit no physical manifestations) and extreme anxiety. I also believe to have suffered a nervous breakdown about 2 years ago.

I am able to function at a low level because I have been going to work. Then again I babysit an infant for a living so the amount of responsibilities is limited. Please know, I do a good job caring for this infant however, I also do cry on the job and obviously the ongoing depression has been a contributing factor to me not doing my best while there. I FAKE IT all the time, smile when around parents, etc.

Parties, socializing- forget it. I don't have medical insurance so getting on anti depressants is not an option right now but I am working on getting a coverage. But it may be another FEW MONTHS before I get insurance and my depression is getting worse and worse every week. As a matter of fact, my friend has some left over prescription for Lexapro and it is about a 60 day supply, do you think I should just try it? The only thing that scares me is that I experience side effects and I am not under medical care.