Socially Incompetent?

iVillage Member
Socially Incompetent?
Mon, 06-21-2010 - 2:47am

Hi everyone,

I am new to this whole message board thing, but this seems like a good idea at the current moment. I have a problem...or problems and am not sure what to do or what to even think. I have noticed lately that I have become socially incompetent and people around me don't seem to like me anymore. I am not sure what is going on. At first, I was quick to assume that it must be the other person. But when the common denominator is me, it can't be everyone else....it has to be something wrong with me. I am someone who loves to be around other people and I feed off their energy. But as I look around, no one comes over, calls, or asks me to do anything anymore. And I would like to ask what is going on but I fear no one would be honest enough and plus, its just down right embarrassing to ask..."so why doesn't anyone want to be around me anymore?" I was hoping to see if there is anyone who has experienced this before? If so, what did you do to remedy the problem? Thanks in advance :)

iVillage Member
Mon, 06-21-2010 - 8:05am
hey, gimom, welcome to the board. i would say it's most definitely not you; it's the people around you. i like to watch people, and i've noticed that most people are too preoccupied/distracted with their own lives to interact with each other. but check your mood and your facial expression: if you're usually grumpy (like me) and ignore everybody, then if you want them to talk to you you'll have to work on seeming more approachable. but if you're usually in a good mood and you smile a lot and people still don't talk to you, chances are it's them.
iVillage Member
Fri, 06-25-2010 - 12:22am