New and scared

iVillage Member
New and scared
Tue, 05-06-2003 - 10:56pm
I am new to this message board stuff. I am a survivor of childhood sexual abuse. I have just admited it to myself that it had happened. I blocked it our for so many years. I suffered from depression, bulimia and complete self hatred. I am still new at expressing my feelings about this stuff, but it just helps to write it down and know that maybe someone out there can relate to what I am going through. I think about the abuse all the time now and it controls my thoughts and yes I am in therapy, but no I have not told my therapist yet, I am planning to next session. I imagine it is hard to say it outloud. I am embarassed about the abuse and I do feel guilty, but I do not want anyone to feel sorry for me, what am I afraid of? Ok thanks for listening.
iVillage Member
In reply to: annie_027
Wed, 05-07-2003 - 2:30am
Welcome to the board here! I have been here for a few months and have found this to be a good place to come for support.

It sounds like you have already come through a lot of things. Learning to express your feelings instead of harming yourself is a huge positive step, so be sure to remind yourself of this success!

It is definitely important to tell your counselor about the SA; he/she can't know exactly how to help you if they don't know. Your feelings of guilt and embarrassment are normal; I hope maybe that makes you feel better. When I finally told my counselor I told her how I felt dirty telling her about it, and she reassured me that she doesn't think any less of me, and she is not there in a judgmental role. She has seen and heard a lot and sees these things from a clinical perspective. She has been great.

Try to remind yourself that this was NOT your fault. I think guilt is one of the biggest things we carry with us as SA survivors, but we CAN learn to let go of it.

I hope all goes well at your next appt., and that you will find this board to be helpful to you.

Hugs, Heidi