I am new to this!

iVillage Member
I am new to this!
Mon, 06-09-2003 - 10:04am
Hello All! I am new to this whole message board thing but I feel like it's time for me to find other people to talk to that also have a history of sexual abuse. I am in a loving, committed relationship currently but my boyfriend is having a hard time dealing with all of this. I am finally seeing a therapist to work out my issues and my boyfriend feels frustrated because there's nothing he can do about the situation. I feel like I have so much to work through and I don't have a clue how to help him. I am looking for a support group so that I now other people have gone through this and survived!
iVillage Member
Mon, 06-09-2003 - 12:48pm
Welcome to the board! Your instinct to seek out a support group is a wonderful one! I have found more healing in support groups like this one and the one I attend face-to-face. OA has also been great for me. I never thought I would be a support group person, but they sure have helped me. Me thinking I would never be a support group person was isolation (a definite effect of the abuse) talking.

I hope you'll keep coming back!

iVillage Member
Mon, 06-09-2003 - 1:36pm
thank you for welcoming me! i am already viewing other postings and finding my way. i am so glad there is a forum for people to feel comfortable and unashamed of their pasts. i look forward to signing on and getting support from people like you. thanks a lot!
iVillage Member
Mon, 06-09-2003 - 2:29pm