I'm sorry if I'm in the wrong place but

iVillage Member
I'm sorry if I'm in the wrong place but
Thu, 07-24-2003 - 3:24pm
I need a question answered. Can any medical person or even non-professional tell me if there is any legitimate reason for a nurse to press so hard on a 6-year old's clitoris that it hurts? And then to claim they were just checking reflexes? Please advise ASAP.
iVillage Member
Thu, 07-24-2003 - 7:15pm
I'm not a professional but that does NOT seem right to me. You don't test reflexes on a clitoris! That is the most ridiculous thing I've ever heard. I don't remember EVER being even touched there by a doctor; the most I remember is him is gently spreading the labia and just looking there to make sure everything looked okay.

I would report the nurse. This just seems all wrong to me.

Good luck in dealing with this. I wish I could offer more. Hugs, Heidi

Heidi

co-cl, Adults with ADD/ADHD Board &

&nbsp

iVillage Member
Fri, 07-25-2003 - 12:12am
I am a nurse and I have NEVER even heard of a reason for touching a patient's clitoris. Reading your post made me sooo angry! Who is the Dr in charge of this nurse? There has to be one! I would report this.

Good luck!

Hugs!

Shelly 

iVillage Member
Fri, 07-25-2003 - 9:05am
Unfortunately it happened over 30 years ago. At the time, of course, I was far too young to know any better and besides, she was a nurse! Someone important - I was just a kid. It's funny, but I'd completely forgotten the incident until a few years ago, but gradually I came to realise that there was something very wrong with that picture. I guess I don't feel much of anything about it now - I guess I'm lucky in that's the only incident in my life.
iVillage Member
Fri, 07-25-2003 - 12:50pm