New here, I need some help

iVillage Member
New here, I need some help
Mon, 09-08-2003 - 12:51pm
Hi. I am new to this board. I have visited a couple of other boards--relationship boards, but think I may need to be here instead. I need some help with underlying issues because I don't think it's my relationship that is the problem. I have a great boyfriend who is very patient with me. I think I have the problem. I moved to California 4 years ago with my ex boyfriend. We had a hard time making friends. He worked as a waiter at night and I worked as a temp at a publishing company during the day. This went on for about a year. We had opposite schedules and so I didn't meet anyone because I would have had to go out alone. I am pretty shy in new social situations. Then he began working as a realtor and I started freelancing as an editor/writer. Working from home--alone--was not a good way to meet people. We met a few people eventually but noone I connected with on any deep level. Anyway, I felt pretty isolated being so far away from my family and friends. My relationship didn't work out and I moved back to where I am from to sort things out. I felt much healthier after reconnecting with people that care about me. My ex and I started talking again and he convinced me to move back to CA. I said OK and went back but he had moved in with a roommate and expected me to find one too. We had lived together for 4 years. I didn't know anyone to live with so had to move in with a stranger. I am very private and have never had a roommate before. This was a very stressful and very lonely and painful time for me. I lived with an older guy and there were no friendship possibilities there. My ex was very mean to me and seemed the only reason he wanted me back was to punish me for leaving. My self-esteem dropped and the lonliness/isolation came back. We broke up and I made plans to return home again (I can't afford to live here on my own). I had made very good friends with my ex's roommate