Need to relax.....any suggestions?

iVillage Member
Need to relax.....any suggestions?
Mon, 11-03-2003 - 4:47pm
I desperately need some help. I am a full time college student who has been working three part time jobs and trying to keep up with an extremely intense amount of out-of-class projects, papers, and studytime required of my courses. Luckily, my third job has just ended (a one month contract), but my season is just getting busier by the day as the semester begins to wrap up. My problem is that I simply can not relax. Over the past few years, I've also been showing a lot of symptoms of major depression and burnout due to my overly stressful workload and worries and I'm so overwhelmed that I can barely function anymore.

I'm in a long distance relationship with an older man who does everything that he can to help me by listening to my problems and worries and does his best to soothe me, but I feel so terrible about unloading on him all the time. He says he doesn't mind and encourages me to discuss my problems openly with him, but I feel like that's all I ever do is unload an endless stream of worries upon him, which doesn't even really make me feel better, but causes him to needlessly worry about me. He's really all that I have right now, because I don't have any other friends, because I just transferred to a new school and am living away from home for the first time in an apartment on the school campus.

I'm terribly afraid of and do not trust doctors, so I never undergo any evaluations or treatments. Even if I broke down and decided to go to one, I couldn't afford to anyway.

I have tried some of the suggested relaxation tips that I have seen suggested online, however, when I try them, I simply can not concentrate on relaxing, because my mind is just racing. Even if I manage to find time to take a hot bath, I stay tense because my mind is constantly building a working to-do list or worrying about everything.