Venting (Overwhelmed)

iVillage Member
Venting (Overwhelmed)
Fri, 03-19-2010 - 12:29am

Hi,

I am new to the Psychology board. I have been feeling really overwhelmed, burnt out and stressed lately. I have recently been dealing with a lot of changes in my life.

Two months ago my boyfriend and I broke up. We were just about to get engaged, had discussed everything. He even talked it over with his dad. We have known each other for almost 10 years, so it has not been an easy situation to deal with. Although I have been doing really well. Focusing on work, school, and keeping busy has helped. I have gone on some coffee dates with some guys as well.

Well a month after we broke up one of my university classes started. I graduated from universiry two years ago, then started working. I was working 6 days a week. But for the past little while I have been so burnt out. I am on call, so lately I have not been getting as many calls which creates a lot of stress for me. Plus, because I am just so mentally and physically exhausted I have been taking some days off.

I have been going to see a counsellor, even though she has told me I am already so aware of things. She is so stunned as to how in touch, and in tunned I am with myself. Which I guess goes along with having a psychology degree, and counselling students, and working with disabilied children. But I find it helps to have that unbiased person to talk to. So because I am working through a lot of my own stuff within myself, plus work, and school. Plus healing from the breakup, and dealing with guys always asking me out etc... I am just feeling so overwhelmed that it is hard to trully focus on my studies. Which then stresses me out, because I am not doing my hwk when I should. Sorry if I sound like I am complaining. Just having a really bad moment and wanted to get it out. Without having to talk to anyone. Even though I have a great support network of family and friends.

Your advice would be appreciated!

Thanks