Feel older than my age...confused!

iVillage Member
Feel older than my age...confused!
Sat, 05-15-2010 - 9:44am

Hi,

So I have no idea where to post this and I don't even know how to explain it.

Iam 22, yet I feel like I have the mindset of say a 35 year old...if that makes sense. Where I live we have two huge,world known universities,so there are alot of people my age in the city.I work in retail at an accessories store so I deal with people my age on a daily basis. I know people my age go out and party on weekends,however Iam not like that,and I have been this way for the last 6 years or so.I just don't have that desire to go out and get drunk and go to clubs.I think it's a waste of money and just don't find it appealing.This belief Iam fine with,I know others my age that are the same. However I have this HUGE desire,at my age to own a house,get married, have a kid...the whole bit.I want all that sooooo bad and feel Iam mature enough to handle it....maybe not finaicially,but emotionally and psychologically.Mind you I do realise that at my age having all that is very unrealistic,which is why I do not have a kid,own a house or am married. All the girls I work with said when they first met me they thought I was like 28,because I act older apparently.