New Here

iVillage Member
New Here
Fri, 05-28-2010 - 10:53am

Hi. I am new to this board. I have posted on the anxiety board, but thought I would post to this board too.

I have been so stressed out lately and I am trying to find ways to combat that. I have come to the conclusion that my problem is trying to do everything. Even on the weekends, if I sit down to relax I cannot help but to think of what needs to be done. My husband and I just bought a new house (we went from a small ranch to a much bigger colonial) and with that is a bit more housework! Weekends are really the only time I have to do laundry and clean, so I rush around trying to get everything done. My husband does help, so it is not like I have to do everything on my own.  I realize that I need to relax more and am trying to work on that.

I love my job (I work in Marketing for a credit union), but it is stressful at times. IT dosn't help that I work about 30 minutes from home, so by the time I get home from work, make dinnner, and eat dinner there is not much time left for anything else.

I guess I would like some advice for dealing with everyday stress. I just picked up the book 8 minute meditation and have started meditating at night. I have found it has helped me sleep better! Does anyone else do meditation?

Sorry this is long and rambling! Any input would be helpful!

iVillage Member
In reply to: balletdiva04
Fri, 05-28-2010 - 4:46pm

Welcome to Stress & Women.

I don't do medatition but I do pray and it does help to relieve stress and calm me down.

Photobucket">

iVillage Member
Thu, 06-03-2010 - 12:08pm
Dee gave you some great tips and advice, but I wanted to share about our

iVillage Member
Thu, 06-03-2010 - 11:43pm

Hi! I read your post and the replies,
Fly Lady.com is wonderful. Definitely check that out. I haven't in a long time. I forgot about her after I moved and was without my computer.
Also I do pray and meditate, both are helpful.